head6

Just another WordPress.com site

SALT

I have been searching for stimulus for teaching AQA Mest 3 to my A Level Media students. The first part of this paper: Section A will be an unseen moving image text followed by three questions.  Section B will be on their prepared case study: the topic the girls have chosen is the representation of disability in the media.

We watched “Salt”  which I thought was fantastic! It reminded me of a female version of the Bourne films and I had the feeling at the end that it may have a sequel…..So I researched this 2010 action film directed by Phillip Noyce. It stars Angelina Jolie as the female version of Jason Bourne – even the way she runs reminds me of the Bourne trilogy (I used to teach these texts previously – can you tell???) Jolie plays the character of Evelyn Salt who is accused of being an undercover Russian agent: she goes on the run to try to clear her name with a huge number of plot turns and twists.

Originally this film was written with a male protagonist in mind: I must say that I could see that as I watched. Apparently Tom Cruise was initially secured for the lead part but then the script was rewritten  for Jolie. I find it surprising that the film has received mixed reviews. There has been praise for the immense action scenes and Jolie’s performance which I must say that I agree with:  found her performance compelling (I did not think I would be saying that). 

However, the film has been criticised for the way it has been written with reviewers finding the plot implausible and too convoluted. However, I must say that personally although it was complicated, I loved the enigmas and the twists in the plot (we had to go back and stop it once for a re watch near the beginning and my husband totally missed the spider bit….) The DVD and Blu-ray apparently features two alternate cuts providing different endings for the movie: now I am intrigued as to what they are….This would be brilliant to teach for narrative theories and character roles. I do hope they make a sequel…..anyway must not stay blogging I have to get off to the summer fayre at school. Hopefully the wet weather won’t damped people’s spirits or affect the turnout of our annual big event.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

