head6

Just another WordPress.com site

SCHINDLER’S LIST

I am just about to watch “Schindler’s List” ahead of my trip to Poland tomorrow (when I can manage to persuade my husband to watch the football on his phone) It is a 1993 film directed by Steven Spielberg and I can remember watching it once before: the most vivid thing that I remember is the girl in the red coat. The plot focuses on a guy called Oscar Schindler who was a German businessman who saved the lives of more than a thousand refugees during the Holocaust. They were mostly Polish-Jewish refugees and Schindler (Liam Neeson) rescued them by employing them in his factories.  I think I remember that Ralph Fiennes played a role as an SS officer…..just looking at the visual image of the theatrical poster makes me feel sad so it will be interesting to see how I cope with the Holocaust Educational Trip tomorrow…..One thing that I am looking forward to is going on a trip where everything is organised for you. It is a huge responsibility as a teacher when you run a trip so it is lovely to have everything organised by someone else! The “Lessons from Auschwitz” trip has been brilliantly organised so far – I have had a message on my phone this afternoon with a number to call if I am running late in the morning! I am usually the one panicking about other people running late! It will be nice to be part of the 200 people going on the visit. To go back to the iconography and symbolism of the girl in the red coat; Schindler sees a little girl wearing a red coat which is one of the extremely few instance of color. The film is primarily shot in black and white: red is used to distinguish the little girl. We discussed this flash of colour at our orientation seminar on Thursday as we talked about our expectations of what we would see and hear at Auschwitz. Later in the film, the girl in red is seen among the dead, recognizable only by the red coat she is still wearing. I found this quotation from Steven Spielberg about his use of the colour red:

“America and Russia and England all knew about the Holocaust when it was happening, and yet we did nothing about it. We didn’t assign any of our forces to stopping the march toward death, the inexorable march toward death. It was a large bloodstain, primary red color on everyone’s radar, but no one did anything about it. And that’s why I wanted to bring the color red in.”

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

