head6

Just another WordPress.com site

Buckingham taught in Brewood!!!

On Sunday morning I read Chapter 6 from Buckingham’s book “Beyond Technology”. This chapter is entitled “Playing to learn? Rethinking the educational potential of Computer Games”. The content referred to media writers on the use of games such as Marc Prensky and James Paul Gee. I found this interesting and useful despite not being overly familiar with games personally.

On Monday morning, a girl in my Year 12 media class did a presentation on creative audiences using games as a medium. Imagine the surprise of her and my group when I recounted some of the things I had learned the previous day! There they were thinking that I was a novice and not familiar with this area…suddenly I began discussing Prensky and Gee with the group. The presenters face paled and she asked me if she had been remiss in not mentioning Prensky and Gee. I reassured her that she had done an excellent job and that it was only my reading for this  module that had enabled me to encounter these writers!!!

I am trying to get onto Chapter 7 “That’s Edutainment” but by the time all of my school work is done and I finally get to read it my eyes seem to fail me….no reflection on Buckingham – more a reflection on how much Easter is needed in this teaching whirlwind!

We have sixth form parents evening this Thursday night which is obviously busy for me in my new role. I am taking three girls to see an MD of a company tomorrow who previously did a presentation for us in school. Hopefully one of them may secure paid work experience during the summer….

I attended a fantastic event last Thursday night with three key representatives from “Tempo” in Ironbridge. It was through a business contact from “Start up Shropshire” called Fay Easton. She led the informative and engaging session which the girls were privileged to attend. The feedback and advice the girls received was invaluable! They are now moving towards their company presentation evening. They submitted seven signed copies of their company report ahead of the deadline last Friday and were therefore very pleased with themselves. Now they are onto the last leg of the competition which is the presentation night. The trade fayre event was marked out of 100 as is the company report. The final 100 marks are available next Wednesday night and they need to make sure their content and delivery is as dynamic as possible. The girls already know that they have some stiff competition from the Trade Fayre so are eagerly preparing their speech. I will keep you posted of their progress as we move towards the big event!!!!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Buckingham taught in Brewood!!!

  1. I just got that book – looking forward to reading it – Buckinghams always good value!

    • I’ve read “the material child” by Buckingham over Easter… Some really interesting points made. Basically he explores a different approach to the usual dichotomy that children are either empowered or exploited by the media. Instead Buckingham looks at the subtleties and nuances of a child “growing up in a consumer culture” as the subtitle says! I especially likes Ch6 obesity and Ch7 sexualisation. The discussion of the influence of tv on children was interesting in Ch10 too. I wondered what “pester power” was when I started reading but quickly realised it is the nagging technique I was so adept at during my own childhood! It’s often worked with my parents!!! How are you getting on with reading / assignment?

Leave a Reply

